Elastic-Agent takes up too much disk space

The size of elastic-agent continues to increase with every version:
8.8 1.7G
8.7 1.4G
8.6 1.2G
8.5 415M

1.7GB for this package size is way too big. We are looking at moving to elastic-agent but can't have over 2000 servers remade to support the increase in size needed? The beats are supposed to be lightweight. Currently Metricbeat and Filebeat installed together on a system only takes up 5.8M of space. Now that is lightweight, how can I explain to my customer that I need to expand from 5.8M to 1.7GB?

I thought the idea of elastic-agent is that what will be needed can be installed based on the policy assigned. Right now we are only using os-query with agent, wanted to eventually move our legacy beats over but in this basic configuration the size on disk is still 1.7G. I'm new to agent but I thought that was the reason for setting up a package registry and an artifact registry. These would be the places to hold all of the extras one may need, not including them in the base agent.

I want the smallest initial installation size possible. Then it should grow as I give more features to the agent.

Moving to Agent is moving away from a "lightweight" client to a bulky client. We want to move in this direction, but it seems elastic is going the wrong way here?

Just a small correction, this space is just for the /etc/filebeat and /etc/metricbeat, the binary for metricbeat is around 350 MB and the binary for filebeat is around 150 MB, so both would need 500 MB of disk space.

But I agree with you, Elastic Agent takes up too much space, I'm in a similar scenario and I'm already facing issues because of this.

Elastic choose to bundle everything in the Agent instead of download the components on demand if I understand correctly.

There is an issue about a lightweight Agent, but it doesn't seem that this will change much.