Elastic eating 25% CPU

Hi,

I am very new to logging and successfully installed a month back an ELK stack for monitoring with grafana, prometheus and cadvisor (all running in docker).

But for about two weeks now I am seeing a constant elastic 25% CPU usage (the blue area)

2 weeks range picture

few hours picture

I am not quite sure where to start digging. I read a few things about indices, but as the whole thing is only running for a month, I wonder if that is the right approach. I also started receiving a warning today on an hourly basis:

[WARN ][o.e.m.j.JvmGcMonitorService] [RmS4tmQ] [gc][1025] overhead, spent [517ms] collecting in the last [1s]

Can someone please point me in the right direction for noobs (if possible with some step by step introduction)?

In general to find out more about what ES is doing, use the Cluster API (which is what all monitoring tools use). In your particular case, hot_threads should provide a lot of information on what the CPU is used on.
It might very well be that either you have some expensive queries that are being ran regularly or the node is low on memory and JVM keeps on GCing which eats CPU.
For queries you can do profiling.

Thanks. I read about what you suggested, and looked at the dumps, but am not sure what I should be looking for. While reading and searching, I stumbled over heap size and am wondering if it could have something to do with my issue. As I also constantly receive

[2017-11-21T18:53:32,721][WARN ][o.e.m.j.JvmGcMonitorService] [RmS4tmQ] [gc][379668] overhead, spent [536ms] collecting in the last [1s]

By the way I have a machine:

4 core
64GB RAM (but about 20GB is locked in by another application)
2x4TB HDD
elasticsearch:5.5.0

and am runnig in docker. As I copied the settings for docker-compose.yml I have

environment:

- ES_JAVA_OPTS=-Xms512m -Xmx512m

I ran hot_threads a few times

curl "localhost:9200/_nodes/hot_threads?human&pretty"

with following results