Elastic-endpoint installed although defend integration is not applied to policy

Hi ! I'm kind of new to the whole elastic stack and I was tasked to put in place some sort of log monitoring and siem solution.

After deploying the stack on some test hosts, everything was fine so I deployed the agent on my whole infrastructure. Then when I went to try the elastic-defend integration, that's where everything went array.

To help you better understand my situation, everything is on premise on multiple virtual machines. I have a cluster of 2 nodes of elasticsearch, one kibana machine that is also the fleet-server.

On that fleet, there are 4 agent policies with their integrations:

• Fleet-server policy [Fleet server; System]
  • Windows policy [Windows; Network Packet Capture; System]
  • Linux policy [Auditd Manager; Network Packet Capture; System]
  • Test policy [Elastic Defend; Auditd Manager; Network Packet Capture; System]

As you can see, only the Test Policy has Elastic Defend, but for some reason I don't understand, the service elastic-endpoint has been installed on all my hosts outside of that policy. And now it's having exclusion issues with our EDR.

We're testing the exclusion list as I'm posting this, but I really want to understand why the elastic Endpoint installed itself on all our hosts.

Hi @Pinpin ,

Thanks for all that background context. This shouldn't be happening and isn't something we've seen any other reports of; Elastic Endpoint should only be installed on hosts with Elastic Defend in their Agent policy.

I have a few questions.

1. In Fleet, can you double check a host with Elastic Endpoint that shouldn't have it. (In other words can you go to Fleet -> Agents, select the Agent policy for the host in the table and verify you don't see Elastic Defend, Elastic Endpoint Security, or Elastic Endpoint and Cloud Security in the list).
  2. Did these hosts ever have Elastic Defend added to their Agent policy?