Elastic Stack for workflow tracing architecture

I'm relatively new to the Elastic world and am currently working on a project to track the amount of time it takes to complete various workflows in our system. The typical workflow will be initiated from a user interaction but then may traverse several systems via APIs before being completed. Each workflow has a trace which includes a correlation ID so that the series of output events the workflow generates are related. The events also have time data so their total duration can be tracked. This data is flowing into Elastic by way of a FileBeat -> LogStash -> Elastic flow.

Somewhere within the stack I want to aggregate the data so that I can measure the average time a flow takes in a given window of time. Because of the volume of data generated I thought it would be best to do this either in logstash by storing an index of the event data but also a separate index of the timings for the event with the arrival of each new event updating a document in the index (via correlation ID). I also looked at roll up jobs in Elastic but it doesn't look like they could perform the time difference operations across documents.

I'm looking for information on a high-level architecture for this type of system so that I can determine which parts of the stack to focus on without reinventing the wheel.

Thanks,

Ben

Hi Ben,

There's an approach using logstash and an "elapsed" plugin which can join related records together. We got into some of the architectural concerns over that here

Another approach is to use an entity centric index -example scripts and discussion here