Elasticsearch 7.2.0 Cluster - Performance Recovery Help

I am new to elasticsearch management and have some issues with a cluster I am working with.

Currently, the cluster is recovering from a node failure, but I would like to stop the recovery and delete a handful of indices. Then reload the bad index myself.
Data loss is not important. Just want to get the cluster back to green as quickly as possible even if the indexes are all deleted or something.

Any time I try to delete an index from the cluster the cluster returns a 503 error. I assume it's because it's busy trying to initialize the unassigned shards. That process is taking too long and I would just like to stop it, but I'm not sure how.

Should I just let the recovery process finish or is there another way to get the cluster back to green?

"status" : "red",
  "timed_out" : false,
  "number_of_nodes" : 2,
  "number_of_data_nodes" : 2,
  "active_primary_shards" : 194,
  "active_shards" : 194,
  "relocating_shards" : 0,
  "initializing_shards" : 8,
  "unassigned_shards" : 243,
  "delayed_unassigned_shards" : 0,
  "number_of_pending_tasks" : 23,
  "number_of_in_flight_fetch" : 0,
  "task_max_waiting_in_queue_millis" : 22808480,
  "active_shards_percent_as_number" : 43.59550561797752

the cluster allocation

{
  "index" : "inventory",
  "shard" : 3,
  "primary" : false,
  "current_state" : "unassigned",
  "unassigned_info" : {
    "reason" : "CLUSTER_RECOVERED",
    "at" : "2021-03-17T01:54:32.146Z",
    "last_allocation_status" : "no_attempt"
  },
  "can_allocate" : "throttled",
  "allocate_explanation" : "allocation temporarily throttled",
  "node_allocation_decisions" : [
    {
      "node_id" : "Fu_5cfOGTl6wZ3ucWPQWZw",
      "node_name" : "node2",
      "transport_address" : "x",
      "node_attributes" : {
        "ml.machine_memory" : "137391284224",
        "ml.max_open_jobs" : "20",
        "xpack.installed" : "true"
      },
      "node_decision" : "throttled",
      "deciders" : [
        {