Elasticsearch fails to start

Hi everyone one. I am a junior sysadmin and I am very new to Elasticsearch.

My OS is CentOS 6.9 and I have installed elasticsearch-2.4.6 with Java 1.8.0_191
When I start the elasticsearch service I get the following error:

service elasticsearch start
Starting elasticsearch: log4j:ERROR setFile(null,true) call failed.
java.io.FileNotFoundException: /var/log/elasticsearch/elasticsearch.log (Permission denied)
log4j:ERROR Either File or DatePattern options are not set for appender [index_search_slow_log_file].
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Unable to access 'path.data' (/var/lib/elasticsearch/elasticsearch)
Likely root cause: java.nio.file.AccessDeniedException: /var/lib/elasticsearch/elasticsearch
at sun.nio.fs.UnixException.translateToIOException(UnixException.java:84)
at sun.nio.fs.UnixException.rethrowAsIOException(UnixException.java:102)
at sun.nio.fs.UnixException.rethrowAsIOException(UnixException.java:107)
at sun.nio.fs.UnixFileSystemProvider.createDirectory(UnixFileSystemProvider.java:384)
at java.nio.file.Files.createDirectory(Files.java:674)
at java.nio.file.Files.createAndCheckIsDirectory(Files.java:781)
at java.nio.file.Files.createDirectories(Files.java:767)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Security.ensureDirectoryExists(Security.java:337)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Security.addPath(Security.java:314)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Security.addFilePermissions(Security.java:259)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Security.createPermissions(Security.java:212)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Security.configure(Security.java:118)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Bootstrap.setupSecurity(Bootstrap.java:212)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Bootstrap.setup(Bootstrap.java:183)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Bootstrap.init(Bootstrap.java:286)
at org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Elasticsearch.main(Elasticsearch.java:45)
Refer to the log for complete error details.
[FAILED]