Elasticsearch real time data sync with sql server

I am new to Elastic Search and I am trying to figure it out below scenarios

1. How/which tool to sync/insert data into Elastic search when new record is created in SQL Server?(Near Real time)
  2. How to transformation for legacy data into elastic search?

PS: I am using Elastic 7.8 version

If your database has a sequence or timestamp that can be used to identify new records then the jdbc input can track state.

Thanks Badger for the response. jdbc input through Logstash right?

I read that Logstash has performance issues. Is there any alternative way?

Can case 1 be resolved with beats? If yes, can you please send me a link which I can follow.

I am very new to ELK stack, please do not mind if my questions are silly

Well you posted in the logstash forum so I assumed you wanted to use logstash :smiley:

I do not think there is a beat that can do this.

The performance of Logstash depends a lot on the configuration so I disagree with your statement. I suspect Logstash is your best bet in order to get data replicated in near real time.

logstash is a good option, I have been using logstash with idbc input for about 8 months with no issues. I recommend tune your SQL query to have index in sql side and as @Badger mentioned, use a timestamp to track deltas change after last execution, something that worked for me is use a limited time range for my where condition, i.e. get only rows modified in the last 10 mins

WHERE ....
AND DATEADD(mi, DATEDIFF(mi, GETUTCDATE(), GETDATE()), *my-modify-date-time-sql-column*) >=  DATEADD(mi,-10,GETDATE())

I have a sync close to real time, logstash pipeline running every 5 mins.

good luck

Thank you @Badger, @Christian_Dahlqvist, @christiancj. I will work on POC using logstash for any insert/update or delete in table.