ELK - Time taking to parse

I am new to ELK [ Elasticsearch Logstash and Kibana].

I have three machines having 30 GB RAM and around 400 GB space
I have millions of file to parse [size is around 300 GB]
I have split the files and placed in three systems.
I installed Elasticsearch Logstash and Kibana in one machine . Then installed Logstash in two other machines.
I redirected the output of logstash in each machine to one elasticsearch machine

It took 6 days to filter out the searchd item[I searched for 10 digit number, timestamp and Name of one API from all these logs]and dispay it in Kibana. Am i doing something wrong here. Is there any other way to speed up/tune this process.

Thanks in Advance, Paul

Have you identified what the bottleneck is? What is CPU and disk I/O looking like on your Elasticsearch node? How many indices/shards are you actively indexing into?

Not yet identified. CPU utilization was maximum for the corresponding java instance. Currently I have only one elasticsearch instance in one of my machine. Do I need to create 3 instance in 3 machine and start parsing ?

FYI we’ve renamed ELK to the Elastic Stack, otherwise beats feels left out :wink:

1 Like

Depending on what you are currently doing, you might be able to tune it and make it more efficient. Scaling up or out is otherwise a good way to increase performance.

Thanks for the reply. You mean to say, if I install elasticsearch and logstash in 3 machines and do log parsing parralley , it would speed up??

It depends on what is limiting performance. I would suspect Elasticsearch to be the bottleneck as you only have one node, so giving this the full host by removing the Logstash instance that is colocated might help.

How many indices and shards are you actively indexing into? The reason I am asking is that this can affect performance as well.