ES going through slow gc

Hi all,

I am new to ES so my question is probably stupid.

I am running ES 2.0.0 beta1 on my mac for testing. My setup is:

• heap size = 6g
  • ulimit = unlimited
  • mlockall...... fail to have it true, not sure why
  • one node
  • connect through transport client
  • one index (I use elastic-gremlin to store graph data into ES and the index represents the graph)
  • everything else like shards, replica is default.

Loading a small graph is fine but when I try a large one I start getting slow gc coming up in the Elasticsearch console while it is loading the graph (adding vertices and edges):

[2015-09-25 12:13:24,432][INFO ][org.elasticsearch.monitor.jvm] [Mad Thinker] [gc][old][218][7] duration [8.8s], collections [1]/[9s], total [8.8s]/[1.2m], memory [5.9gb]->[5.8gb]/[5.9gb], all_pools {[young] [266.2mb]->[146.2mb]/[266.2mb]}{[survivor] [3.5mb]->[0b]/[33.2mb]}{[old] [5.6gb]->[5.6gb]/[5.6gb]}
[2015-09-25 12:19:33,024][INFO ][org.elasticsearch.monitor.jvm] [Mad Thinker] [gc][old][504][51] duration [7.7s], collections [1]/[7.8s], total [7.7s]/[1.6m], memory [5.9gb]->[5.8gb]/[5.9gb], all_pools {[young] [266.2mb]->[145.4mb]/[266.2mb]}{[survivor] [32.1mb]->[0b]/[33.2mb]}{[old] [5.6gb]->[5.6gb]/[5.6gb]}

Then the client starts having trouble and gives NoNodeAvailableException repeatedly.

I took a heap dump and used Eclipse MAT. It says:

One instance of "org.elasticsearch.search.SearchService" loaded by "sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader @ 0x654cc0700" occupies 5,791,739,856 (92.91%) bytes. The memory is accumulated in one instance of "java.util.concurrent.ConcurrentHashMap$Node[]" loaded by "<system class loader>".

If I look into it I can see a lot of ConcurrentHashMapNode and each node has this pageCacheRecycler which contains Recyclers. When I go deeper I can see the elements within DequeRecycler which looks like the vertex and edge I am adding.