ESRejectedExecutionException using _msearch

Hi everyone, I am very new to elasticsearch. I looked around for an answer to my question, but couldn't find one in the documentation or in a similar post here.

In my system, I currently have 2 nodes, one is a combined master and data node, and the other is a client node, with settings like:

Master node:

http.enabled: true
node.data: true
node.master: true
cluster.name: mvtest

Client node:

http.enabled: true
node.data: false
node.master: false
cluster.name: mvtest

All of the other settings are ES 1.5.2 defaults. When I try to post to the _msearch endpoint, using a file like:

{}
{“query”: {“multi_match”: {“operator”:”and”, “query”: “1”, “fields”: [“_id”]}}}
{}
{“query”: {“multi_match”: {“operator”:”and”, “query”: “2”, “fields”: [“_id”]}}}
{}
{“query”: {“multi_match”: {“operator”:”and”, “query”: “3”, “fields”: [“_id”]}}}
…
{}
{“query”: {“multi_match”: {“operator”:”and”, “query”: “999”, “fields”: [“_id”]}}}
{}
{“query”: {“multi_match”: {“operator”:”and”, “query”: “1000”, “fields”: [“_id”]}}}

I get MANY errors in the logs of the form:

[2015-05-20 18:57:22,150][DEBUG][action.search.type       ] [master] [genedoc_mygene_allspecies_current_1][8], node[4ara0M7SReSEPKrZM2g5Gg], [P], s[STARTED]: Failed to execute [org.elasticsearch.action.search.SearchRequest@5104e7e5] lastShard [true]
org.elasticsearch.common.util.concurrent.EsRejectedExecutionException: rejected execution (queue capacity 1500) on org.elasticsearch.search.action.SearchServiceTransportAction$23@18e20fd8
        at org.elasticsearch.common.util.concurrent.EsAbortPolicy.rejectedExecution(EsAbortPolicy.java:62)
        at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.reject(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:821)
        at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor.execute(ThreadPoolExecutor.java:1372)
        at org.elasticsearch.common.util.concurrent.EsThreadPoolExecutor.execute(EsThreadPoolExecutor.java:79)