Exporting Saved Search Data

Hi everyone,

I am currently working on an excel export tool. I am fairly new to elasticsearch, and right now I am trying to figure out how to programmatically export the data tied to my saved searches in kibana. Does anyone have any experience with this, and could possibly give some advice?

Thanks in advance,
Joey

1 Like

I'm afraid I don't really understand what you are asking for. When you say "data tied to my saved searches", what do you mean? The records you see in Discover, for instance, and just the documents in Elasticsearch, converted from a JSON format to an HTML table. If that's all you need, you can just query Elasticsearch directly. Is that what you're asking for?

Hi Joe,

Apologies, I am still quite new to Elasticsearch and the Elastic Stack in general.

I am an intern trying to build an application that will let our users export the data that populates the discover tab when they open a saved search (request is made externally from Kibana itself).

example: The user logs into our products admin console, selects a time frame, project, and a saved search that already exists in the selected project. The user is then able to export the data to a .csv file (whatever data appears in the discover tab using the selected project, saved search, and time-frame).

Is there a way to return the saved searches that exist within a project, and if so, can I extract the request made from a specific saved search?

Thank you for your reply, I hope this makes a little more sense now. If I'm just shouting non-sense, feel free to tell me :slight_smile:

Kind Regards,
Joey

Is there a way to return the saved searches that exist within a project
can I extract the request made from a specific saved search?

Yes and yes.