Field [] used in expression does not exist in mappings, even after creating…?

Hi,

I am very new to both Elasticsearch and Kibana, which I am using for a current project. I have data coming in from an external source, and one of the fields I have in Discover of Kibana is 'clearancetime'. This field is either empty or has a timestamp in the following format:

January 22nd 2017, 00:00:00.000

I have scripted a field which uses the clearance time in a ternary statement. I think get an error in Discover that the field cleartime used in the expression does not exist in mappings. So I tried adding it via sense with the following PUT request:

PUT source*/_mappings/clearancetime
{
   "properties": {
      "data": {
          "type": "date"
      }
   }
}

I get back the response : { "acknowledge": true }

But I still get the same field does not exist in mapping error.

Any ideas?

ADDITIONAL ERROR INFORMATION: (sorry about the format)....

Error: Request to Elasticsearch failed: {"error":
{"root_cause":[{"type":"script_exception",
"reason":"Field [clearancetime] used in expression does not exist in mappings"}],
"type":"search_phase_execution_exception","reason":"all shards failed",
"phase":"query","grouped":true,"failed_shards":
[{"shard:0,"index":"source-raw-2017.01","node":"dewddasOSada_0vJWA",
"reason":{"type":"script_exception","reason":"Error during search with inline script 
[doc['clearancetime'].value > 0 ? doc['clearancetime'].value - doc['initialtime'].value : 0] using lang [expression]",
"caused_by":{"type":"script_exception",
"reason":"Field [clearancetime] used in expression does not exist in mappings"}}}]}}

The scripted field called "duration" has the following ternary expression:

doc['clearancetime'].value > 0 ? doc['clearancetime'].value - doc['initialtime'].value : 0

Hi @informatico,