Full verification mode possible with self generated CA?

I'm just getting started with securing Elastic Stack. My setup is a cloud VM where both Elasticsearch and Kibana are running. It is a one node setup right now.

I generated a CA with certutil, and then generated a pkcs12 key for my Elasticsearch node using this CA.
bin/elasticsearch-certutil cert --ca elastic-stack-ca.p12 --name my-server01 --ip 192.168.0.1 (placeholder) --dns my-server01.vpc.com

I'v got Elasticsearch running with full host verification. Now I'm adding Kibana to the mix by converting the pkcs12 key from the CA to a pem file and it's working fine with elasticsearch.ssl.verificationMode: certificate. However once I set verificationMode to full Kibana can't discover Elasticsearch anymore.

Isn't it possible to use full verification mode with a self generated CA or am I doing something wrong here?

Hi, you need to give us a little more information. Relevant parts of your kibana.yml file would be a good start !

How did you go about doing the following ?

and what setting in Kibana did you use the resulting PEM for ?

What errors do you see in the Elasticsearch logs or the Kibana logs ?

I was using OpenSSL as I couldn't create a PEM with certutil.
openssl pkcs12 -in CertificateName.p12 -out CertificateName.pem -nodes

and what setting in Kibana did you use the resulting PEM for ?

elasticsearch.ssl.certificateAuthorities: [ "/etc/kibana/my-server01.pem" ]

I tried to both put the PEM from the Elasticsearch node and from the elastic-stack-ca.pkcs12 here, neither works.

What errors do you see in the Elasticsearch logs or the Kibana logs ?

Jul 29 12:56:09 my-server01 kibana[18358]: {"type":"log","@timestamp":"2019-07-29T12:56:09Z","tags":["warning","elasticsearch","admin"],"pid":18358,"message":"Unable to revive connection https://my-server01:9200/"}