Hadoop / Elasticsearch functionality

Hello all, this is my first post here! I am just starting to learn about Elasticsearch and Hadoop, and there is one thing I don't understand about how they work together.

My (admittedly very simplistic) understanding of how these two work, is that Elasticsearch can handle data storage and indexing/searching, while Hadoop can also do data storage, and also distributed computing. What I have trouble understanding is: who is doing what, when Elasticsearch is run "on top of" Hadoop?

Is the actual data stored in HDFS, or in Elasticsearch?

• Is Hadoop the primary data storage? When an elasticsearch data is run, is it run against data in Hadoop? How is indexing done, in this case?
  • Or, on the contrary, is Elasticsearch used for data storage, and Hadoop only for long-term archiving?
  • How are Hadoop's distributed computing functions used? Is any part of the Elastic server's logic offloaded to Hadoop?

Most information I could find on the Internet seems to assume some basic knowledge about how the two work together or separately, knowledge which I lack, so I turned to this forum for advice. Please keep in mind that I'm probably looking for some extremely basic answers here.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Dan

4 Likes

You don't run ES on hadoop, you don't store ES data in hadoop. They store data themselves.

The es-hadoop library is a connector that let's you take data from one into the other, and let's them do what they are good at. In hadoop's case it is massive, job like processing and storage. For ES is it (near) real time analytics and search.

Hi Mark, thanks for responding.

So if I understand you right, both Hadoop and ES would have their own independent data sets? This is a little confusing for me.

Let's say I have a bunch of log data coming in through Logstash. Would one typically configure this data to go to Hadoop, ES, or both, and why?

Dan

Yes