Help with data structure (small project)

Hi there!

I'm quite new to ES and would need some guidance from you, if possible.
The scenario is the following:

I have approximately 20 unique people, all identified by a separate UUID.
Each person has around 2000 unique statistics coupled with a corresponding value.

An example of raw data would be something like this:

id: UUID
name: John Doe
stats: ["jumps" -> 23, "farts" -> 52, "kilometersWalked" -> 33, ...]

The statistics would be updated when an certain event triggers it and at a maximum interval of one time per hour. As of now I'm stuck of how to solve this, as in what would be a good way to store this?

Side note: The statistic types are the same for all people, i.e these 2000 types are pre-defined as well as all values are integers.

I have one question: are the metrics cumulative or each document will report the delta since the last update?

I think the best approach would be to have 2 indices:

• time based indices, which will contain one document per metric update per user
  • one entity centric index where you can store the latest event you received from each user

The second one is not strictly necessary, but it can make some operations more handy.
To get the latest stats for a given user, you can query on the user uuid ordering by timestamp descending.

Also, Transform Jobs might help to build up stats over time for each user (e.g. average number of steps).

Hey, thanks for replying.

My idea was for it to be cumulative. On a certain triggered event an iteration of all statistic of said person will update (if changed). My idea was to do a bulk update on existing fields.

What you think?

You can even overwrite the whole document, indexing via bulk update (if you receive all the updates at once) using the user uuid as _id.
But you would lose the evolution over time.