How to aggregate data across multiple fields?

Hi!

I'm fairly new to Kibana. I'm trying to perform data aggregation across multiple fields, but don't seem to be approaching the problem the right way. Example use case:

I have data about house prices. E.g. house "a" costs 10, house "b" costs 20, house "c" costs 5, house "d" costs 50. Example data point:

{
  "house": "a",
  "cost": 10,
}

I also have data about ownership, e.g. person "p1" owns houses "[a, b]", person "p2" owns houses "[c, d]". Example data point:

{
  person: "p1",
  houses: ["a", "b"],
}

Goal: I want to visualize a pie chart that shows the aggregated house cost for each person. I.e. "p1" should get a value of 10 + 20 = 30, and "p2" should get a value of 5 + 50 = 55.

This currently doesn't work with Pie Chart visualization because there's no link between "person" and "cost".

I don't want to pre-calculate this aggregation before pushing the data to Kibana - my hope is that Kibana can aggregate the data on the fly.

• Can I solve this problem in Kibana, or do I need to pre-compute these values before pushing the data?
  • How can I "link" the data from the 2 different types of datapoints? Is there a better way to lay out the data?

Thanks for the help!

This seems like normalized data. Unfortunately, Elasticsearch doesn't currently support joins which you would normally use to do something like this in a normalized context. Thankfully, you can get pretty far in ES, by pre-joining or denormalizing your data at ingestion time.

That is probably not the answer that you'd like to hear, but once the data is denormalized, the whole power of elastic query DSL will be available to build out any aggregation you want.

So this example data you've written out would look a little different denormalized. Since the way you've described it looks like a one to many relationship - one person owns many houses - each document would be a house, and the person would appear in multiple rows: