How to calculate the elapsed time of a flag status per day?

I'd like to figure out the elapsed time between flag status changes.

Simplified example : a person can only be sad or happy. I'd like to know how long each mood was active until it changed.

I'm looking for a general best practice . I'm open to change the way I create my logs. I'm new to data science and probably miss the right terms. Related advices are very appreciated.

Index: user_mood_log

|    changed_at    |  mood  | user |
 ------------------------------
 | yyyy-mm-dd 12:00 | sad    | John |
 | yyyy-mm-dd 15:00 | happy  | John |
 | yyyy-mm-dd 18:00 | happy  | John |
 |        ...       |   ...  |  ... |

Challenges:

1. The last record of yesterday (or even older) needs to be considered. Means I can't simply group by day.
  2. A mood might not change for several days.
  3. Duplicated mood logs are possible.
  4. I could want to change the grouping by hours or months or others on the fly
  5. It could have more than 2 moods
  6. Number of logs are somewhat big

Any advice? Thanks in advance!

I've just found this Transactions | Kibana Guide [7.13] | Elastic

which is exactly the kind of graph I need to do but based on filebeat data.

"transaction" id would be John and I would see time passed in each status.

How can I do that?

A transaction is part of APM (application performance management), where this transaction gets created before it is indexed.

However, in your case, you might be able to keep your data structure and index events as they come in, but then use transforms to move the data into a format suitable for querying further.

Thanks for the answer, I've looked into transforms as well but I can't find a way to calculate elapsed time between two documents when there's no start/stop events but a continuous flow of a wide range of events.

Any ideas on how to do that? Is it only possible?