How to explore transaction history for every request?

Hi, I'm new to elastic search stack. We're trying to improve performance of our nodejs application with APM.
As you see on the picture we're using graphql. Means every request goes to /graphql path on server.

Let's go to transaction details.
This is where i get lost

1. Is there any history of requests and their details? Like:
    2018-12-19-18-15: my-api.local:80/graphql
    2018-12-19-18-16: my-api.local:80/settings
    2018-12-19-18-17: my-api.local:80/graphql
    2018-12-19-18-18: my-api.local:80/graphql
    etc and If I click on that specific request details it would show what happened there? Is it possible to do like this?
  2. Currently transaction sample page shows some information but it's not useful for us. Example, why is there only 1 request shows? How can we explore every requests and their details?

Example: New relic shows transaction trace details for every request, like when and where that request happened.

1 Like

Hi Shinebayar

Thanks for trying out Elastic APM and great to see that you got everything up and running :blush:

UI

Before explaining how to see all the data, let me first explain what we're showing in the 2nd screenshot you posted.

The transaction waterfall you see at the bottom of the page is just a sample from the selected "Transactions duration distribution" bucket and in the current time-range. You can see exactly when this sample was recorded from the "Timestamp" field. When you select a different bucket using the "Transactions duration distribution" graph just above the waterfall, a new sample from that bucket will be shown.

It's useful to look at some of the buckets in the right hand side of the graph as those will be the requests that took the longest to serve. Those are usually the ones you're interested in.

Query for all data