How to make Search UI show results in a new tab?

Hello!

I am new to React, so please excuse me if I am asking a lame question. I would like to set up the Reference UI to show search results (upon pressing the "Search" button) in a new tab or on a new page. How can I achieve that? After spending nearly a day on this I wasn't able to figure out by myself.

Basically, I would like to configure my website so that it shows the search box on the home page, but the search results are displayed on a separate page.

I would appreaciate your assistance.

Thank you!

Kasia

Hey @kasibiel,

Assuming you have two pages:

/home
/search

/search is where you would have your full Search UI experience, like you see in the Reference UI

/home (or any other page) can simply have a text input in a form that links a user to the /search page with a q parameter populated

Something like:

<form id="searchform">
  <input id="searchtext" type="text" />
  <input type="submit" />
</form>

const searchform = document.getElementById('searchform');
const searchtext = document.getElementById('searchtext');

function submit(event) {
  window.location = `/search?q=${searchtext.value}`
}

searchform.onsubmit = submit;

I don't know if you're using React or not on your home page, I just used vanilla JS here for illustration.

Thank you, @JasonStoltz!

That's definitively a step forward from where I was before posting to this forum!

What would be even better, however, would be to provide the rich search box already on the /home page (with all the query suggestions, styling, bells & whistles) and redirect to a /search page with the search box looking exactly the same (and populated with the query) and with all the results listed.

Is that doable? Could you suggest a way to achieve it?

Thank you again,

Kasia

Hi @kasibiel, apologies for the late reply, I was out for a long break.