How to write queries to pull a specific data in ELK

Hi Team,

How to write queries to pull specific information in the custom dashboards. I want to pull specific information in the drop-down list in the custom dashboard.

I was able to create a drop-down list(control type) in the custom dashboard but was unable to see accurate details in the drop-down list. I have through some articles. They say queries may give accurate data but I am new to ELK and don't know how to write them. I am looking for some useful material related this.

Hello @Kumbum,

Could you please share which version you are using? (you can check in Stack Management). Additionally, more details on what you mean by accurate data would be helpful. What would be considered specific information in this case?

@Priscilla_Parodi
I use Filebeat to stream the logs to ELK. The version is 7.17.11
Yes, a specific information.

You mean by filtering, correct?

You can use the Kibana Query Language (KQL) for filtering data:

Or you can edit as a query DSL:

@Priscilla_Parodi

Let me give a brief background about this. I have a program that creates a log file once a day. It contains the following information. And, the filebeat has been configured to push these logs as follows to ELK. Now, I want to create a custom dashboard to display the following metrics on it.

Log_01052024.log - Every day a new log gets generated by the program. The following are the sample details.

LOG_LEVELS, TIMESTAMP, USER, DESCRIPTION, Otherinformation
INFO, 01/05/2024 23:00:00, USER1, "Task Started", ""
INFO, 01/05/2024 23:00:10, USER1, "Deployment is successful", "CHG123"
INFO, 01/05/2024 23:00:20, USER1, "Task Ended", ""
INFO, 01/05/2024 23:00:30, USER1, "Task Started", ""
INFO, 01/05/2024 23:00:40, USER1, "Deployment is successful", "CHG456"
INFO, 01/05/2024 23:00:50, USER1, "Task Ended", ""
INFO, 01/05/2024 23:01:00, USER1, "Task Started", ""
INFO, 01/05/2024 23:01:10, USER1, "Deployment is unsuccessful", "CHG789"