I am trying to retrieve the "message" field from my logs for level "ERROR"

Hi there,

I am very new to ELK. My apologies if my doubt seems blunt.

I have several different errors in my logs. I am trying to get the "message" alone of each of these errors as an alert to my mailbox.

I tried using ctx.payload.hits.hits.0._source.message as suggested by "Martijn Van Groningen" in Can't get ctx.payload.hits.hits.index.fields.fieldname to work

But this only returns the message field of one error. But this is not my requirement.

For ex: If I have 7 different errors in my logs, I want to retrieve the "message" field for all these 7 errors. Similarly, if I have 100 logs of level "ERROR", Watcher should send me the "message" field of each of these 100 errors.

Please find below the script that I have written in order to achieve this.

{
"trigger": {
"schedule": {
"interval": "10h"
}
},
"input": {
"chain": {
"inputs": [
{
"first": {
"search": {
"request": {
"search_type": "query_then_fetch",
"indices": [
"logs"
],
"types": [],
"body": {
"query": {
"constant_score": {
"filter": {
"bool": {
"filter": [
{
"range": {
"@timestamp": {
"gte": "now-24h"
}
}
}
],
"must": [
{
"match": {
"level": "ERROR"
}
},
{
{
"host": "some IP address"
}
}
]
}
}
]
}
}
}
}
}
}
}
}
},
"condition": {
"always": {}
},
"actions": {
"send_email": {
"email": {
"profile": "standard",
"to": [
"aa@bb.com"
],
"subject": "Different levels of logs in the specified host",
"text": "Please find below the messages of different errors in the specified host \n\n ERROR : {{ctx.payload.first.hits.hits.0._source.message}} \n Please check the logs for further details."
}
}
}
}
}

I also have other inputs as a part of the input chain. But I haven't included them because they weren't of any concern. Will I have to use aggregations in order to achieve what I'm trying to achieve?

You can loop through search results like this

{{#ctx.payload.hits.hits}}{{_id}}:{{/ctx.payload.hits.hits}}"