Im a bit confused on JDBC Indexes/document_types

So im a bit new to this admittedly, and i've been reading at exactly what "indexes" are and it mostly makes sense. However as im just using this with the logstash JDBC plugin I only really am referencing JDBC indexes.

When I define a logstash config file using the Elasticsearch plugin I will have something like this:

output {
    elasticsearch {
        index => "sensors"
        document_type => "sensor"
        document_id => "%{sensor_id}"
        hosts => "localhost:9200"
    }
}

(This in particular is for a Postgres DB that has weather sensor data (temps/humidity/etc..). Im not sure I understand what "Index/document_type/document_id mean in this instance.

I understand what an index is in the "scheme" of Elasticsearch itself, but maybe im just not sure of the concept in this scenario, not am I sure of the right conventions exactly on naming these things? Im really just going to be looking at one or two tables in this scenario.

Can anyone explain maybe exactly what these mean? If I wanted to search multiple tables would I need multiple outputs? or just multiple types?

You can think about index as a schema, type as a table and id is like a primary key.

If you have 2 tables which represent 2 different type of objects (I mean no relationship), then yes you need to index both.
If field names are shared, then you will be able to search for the common fields whatever the type is.

That makes sense, were going to be using Kibana to do Visualized Searching....but Since Kibana pulls in all the data (my sql statement is just select * from sensor_table) I guess im not sure the point of having different types/id's...etc..

Since Kibana can just search through any of that? I guess maybe for me I don't understand how splitting them up helps. Im basically wanting to just be able to access various column data from 1 table (possibly 2 in the future). So do the types/id's really matter in that case?