Installing xpack = yellow cluster health

After installing xpack and changing the default passwords of the three default users, my cluster now shows as yellow when I query it's health:

{
  "cluster_name" : "graylog",
  "status" : "yellow",
  "timed_out" : false,
  "number_of_nodes" : 1,
  "number_of_data_nodes" : 1,
  "active_primary_shards" : 10,
  "active_shards" : 10,
  "relocating_shards" : 0,
  "initializing_shards" : 0,
  "unassigned_shards" : 5,
  "delayed_unassigned_shards" : 0,
  "number_of_pending_tasks" : 0,
  "number_of_in_flight_fetch" : 0,
  "task_max_waiting_in_queue_millis" : 0,
  "active_shards_percent_as_number" : 66.66666666666666
}

I've done some searching (I'm an ES novice) and the issue is that I have unassigned shards.

I found the following query which shows that the following shards are the unassigned shards:

curl -XGET localhost:9200/_cat/shards?h=index,shard,prirep,state,unassigned.reason| grep UNASSIGNED
.monitoring-alerts-6          0 r UNASSIGNED CLUSTER_RECOVERED
.watcher-history-6-2017.10.19 0 r UNASSIGNED CLUSTER_RECOVERED
.monitoring-es-6-2017.10.19   0 r UNASSIGNED CLUSTER_RECOVERED
.triggered_watches            0 r UNASSIGNED CLUSTER_RECOVERED
.watches  

How exactly do I repair my cluster and why would installing xpack result in the above?

That is expected as you have only one node. So it can't replicate shards.

It's perfectly fine to stay in that situation.
Or you can change live the number of replicas to 0. So no backup expected and elasticsearch will be green again.

PUT /.monitoring-alerts-6/_settings
{
    "index" : {
        "number_of_replicas" : 0
    }
}

You probably will have to change also some index templates .

Thanks for the quick reply.

Can I expect this behavior upon restart of any single node cluster?

I ran the following query and even though the shards show as unassigned it looks like new ones were created:

curl -XGET "http://127.0.0.1:9200/_cat/shards"