Issues configuring SSL TCP Syslog Collection - Palo Alto Integration

I am new to the Elastic ecosystem and looking for assistance...trying to configure tcp SSL collection for palo logs from cortex datalake... this cert worked fine with our previous solution so I know nothing is wrong with the cert

within my SSL configuration from the palo tcp collection

SSL Configuration
ssl.certificate: "C:/path/to/cert/lr_server.crt"
ssl.certificate_authorities: ["C:/path/to/cert/lr_server.crt"]

get the following error -

[failed to reload inputs: 1 error: Error creating runner from config: type mismatch accessing 'ssl'] - when running netstat the agent isn't even listening on the port

If I remove all SSL configuration - agent listens on port but is unable to decrypt the traffic :slight_smile:

Hi @elasticnub Welcome to the community and thanks for trying Elastic Agent integrations.

I did a quick ask internally see what we get... did you try without the leading ssl.

certificate: "C:/path/to/cert/lr_server.crt"
certificate_authorities: ["C:/path/to/cert/lr_server.crt"]

Assume you are talking about this section

I looked in the code here

Which makes me think you may not need the leading ssl.

{{#if ssl}}
request.ssl: {{ssl}}
{{/if}}

hey @stephenb - I have tried every which way possible including removing the SSL - the error messages are super generic and it appears I might be the only person on the internet with the error :slight_smile: - it should be noted that I am using the Palo Alto Next-Gen Firewall integration as we do not use cortex XDR, just global protect VPN service in the cloud.

Do you have any idea where I can find information on the errors provided from the SSL configuration? I have tried path to certificates vs putting the cert within the SSL box. With any reference to certificates the agent will not open the port for listening.

certificate:
  - |
    -----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----
   blah blah blah
    -----END CERTIFICATE-----