Kibana server not ready after update (cause of mapper_parsing_exception)

Hi all,

I'm quite new to ELK, did my first Update and instant run into the first issue I cannot address.

What I did:

• Updated all Elasticsearch Nodes from 6.5 to 6.8
  • Cluster is green
  • Updated Kibana from 6.5 to 6.8

Current State:

• Kibana HTTP Error: Kibana server is not ready yet
  • Kibana Startup Logs:

Aug 14 07:35:52 kibana-server kibana[32209]: {"type":"log","@timestamp":"2019-08-14T07:35:52Z","tags":["info","migrations"],"pid":32209,"message":"Creating index .kibana_3."}

Aug 14 07:35:52 kibana-server kibana[32209]: {"type":"log","@timestamp":"2019-08-14T07:35:52Z","tags":["debug","upgrade_assistant","reindex_worker"],"pid":32209,"message":"Could not fetch riendex operations from Elasticsearch"}

Aug 14 07:35:52 kibana-server kibana[32209]: {"type":"log","@timestamp":"2019-08-14T07:35:52Z","tags":["debug","upgrade_assistant","reindex_worker"],"pid":32209,"message":"Stopping worker..."}
Aug 14 07:35:52 kibana-server kibana[32209]: FATAL [mapper_parsing_exception] Mapping definition for [url] has unsupported parameters: [properties : {accessCount={type=long}, accessDate={type=date}, url={type=text, fields={keyword={ignore_above=2048, type=keyword}}}, createDate={type=date}}]"}},"status":400}"}

At this Point I'm stuck:
It seems there is a problem with the .kibana_N Index

Therefore I conclude that there must be an issue with the .kibana template which applies to all indicies containing the name kibana.

The big question is:
What is wrong with the [url] mapping definition and how to repair it?

Thanks to everyone who takes the time for my issue

It's possible there's a conflict between the old kibana template and the new upgrade system. In 6.6+ there's an upgrade step that will push mappings (as opposed to using a template). You should be able to safely delete any kibana templates, and then let's try a server restart