Log files are not current

I am running the Kibana GUI and the log files are not current: This the output of the first log:

March 24th 2016, 15:17:08.747
message:2015-08-13 02:36:24,038 DEBUG [AptService] [org.springframework.scheduling.quartz.SchedulerFactoryBean#0_Worker-1] Request APT :: Request ID : 157471, Priority

The time stamp is : March 24th 2016, 15:17:08.747
the message date is 8/13/2015. How come the log file doesn't generate the most current logs?
How can I correct this.

It seems like you don't have a date filter to parse the date in the input logs.

How can I do that?

You should use a date filter, in your example:
Timestamp is: March 24th 2016, 15:17:08.747
i used this: joda.timeFormat
Snippet below should works :wink:

filter{
date { match => ["MMMM dddd YYYY, HH:mm:ss.SSS"] }
}

Sorry I am new to ELK.

I have 4 files /etc/logstash/conf.d
rw-r--r--. 1 root root 194 Mar 10 13:32 02-beats-input.conf
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 155 Mar 22 10:15 10-syslog.conf
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 470 Mar 24 20:24 10-syslog-filter.conf
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root 220 Mar 23 14:26 30-elasticsearch-output.conf

Do I put the code in here, this the contents of file 10-syslog-filter.conf, where would I put it exactly.

filter {

if [type] == "syslog" {

grok {

match => { "message" => "%{SYSLOGTIMESTAMP:syslog_timestamp} %{SYSLOGHOST:syslog_hostname} %{DATA:syslog_program}(?:\[%{POSINT:syslog_pid}\])?: %{GREEDYDATA:syslog_message}" }

add_field => [ "received_at", "%{@timestamp}" ]

add_field => [ "received_from", "%{host}" ]

}

syslog_pri { }

date {

match => [ "syslog_timestamp", "MMM  d HH:mm:ss", "MMM dd HH:mm:ss" ]

}

}

}

The field name is missing. Should be something like:

date { match => ["name-of-field-with-timestamp", "MMMM dddd YYYY, HH:mm:ss.SSS"] }