Logstash 6.2 as root on OSX 10.12

Is it possible to run Logstash 6.2 as root on OSX 10.12? If it is, can somebody walk me thru that process?

I can run it successfully as a User, when that User is logged in. But I can't figure out how to install it as root, so that I don't need to stay logged in. (I'm using LingonX to handle my startup scripts.)

I've got a working ElasticSearch-Logstash-Kibana setup, on a mixed OSX/Ubuntu 14.04 network. I just updated to 6.2 today. I just started playing with MetricBeats, since Kibana tempted me as soon as I updated. Cool stuff, I'd like to put it on the Production server. But I'm having the same problem, I can't figure out how to run it as root. Next on my ToDo list is osquery, but I'd really like to figure this out first, before I start installing even more stuff on a dozen OSX boxes.

How set up a Logstash to run as a daemon on Mac OS X is really more of an OS X question.

I doubt Logstash has any problems running as root (but it's not recommended).

I know how to set up a LaunchDaemon on OSX, or at least I've managed to get other services to run at startup. But when I try to run Logstash as root, and then restart the server, the java service starts, runs for a couple minutes and then dies. I think it's something to do with permissions on a file somewhere. It feels like maybe the log files don't have the correct permissions, but I've played with moving the program files around, to /usr/local/ maybe...?, and setting permissions, and I'm not having any luck. And anyway, that's just a guess on my part.

I downloaded the zip from Elastic, and followed all of the instructions to install it on OSX. And it does work when run as a logged-in user, it sends the data off as expected.