LOGSTASH / Kibana4 - Question

I have a question, I am trying to graph application response times on NGINX logs. I am trying to graph the response time base on a field called request_duration.

My logs look like this:

216.165.152.226 - - [09/Sep/2015:06:54:26 +0000] "GET /cgi-bin/dota/opac-main.pl?logout.x=1 HTTP/1.1" 200 7423 "https://www.thinktank.info/cgi-bin/dota/acc-main.pl?logout.x=1" - www.thinktank.info 0.186 10.237.187.132:5013

My filter is this:
%{IPORHOST:clientip} %{NGUSER:indent} %{NGUSER:agent} [%{HTTPDATE:timestamp}] "%{WORD:verb} %{URIPATHPARAM:request} HTTP/%{NUMBER:httpversion}" %{NUMBER:answer} %{NUMBER:byte} "%{URI:referrer}" %{NGUSER:indent1} %{JAVACLASS:web1} %{BASE10NUMBER:request_duration} %{IPORHOST:placksrv}:%{INT:plk_version}

The field that I want to graph is the %{BASE10NUMBER:request_duration} but if you look in the kinaba index show the field as a string.

request_duration string true true 0

Any Ideas, I am new to the ELK stack and it looks good for our shop.

Thanks in advance.

BTW also tried this on the filter..

mutate {
        convert => [ "request_duration", "float"]
    }

But no change it still looks like a string in kibana.

You need to specify that in the template that exists, ES does the best it can but sometimes that's not 100%.

Take a look at curl HOST:9200/_template/logstash.

Mark,

Thank you very much for your quick response, however I am not sure I understand what you are asking me to do.

curl localhost:9200/_template/logstash