Messages from logstash taking long time to appear in search

(Alex Harvey) #1

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to ELK and I suspect this is an easy question for someone who knows ES well.

I am building a CI acceptance test pipeline in Serverspec to validate my Puppet ELK builds. The most important test of all for me is to prove that a message sent from logger to the /var/log/messages file finds its way through the shipper->redis->indexer pipeline and can be found via the ES search API within a reasonable time.

Unfortunately the messages are sometimes taking up to 15 minutes to appear.

My Serverspec code is:

describe 'end to end test' do
  it 'a message sent by logger is found in ES search' do

shell 'logger -f /var/log/messages glueball'
    sleep 120
    shell "curl -XPOST 'localhost:9200/logstash-*/_refresh'" # see below for others I tried here 
    shell "curl 'localhost:9200/logstash-*/_search?pretty' -d '{\"query\":{\"match\":{\"message\":\"glueball\"}}}'" do |r|
      expect(r.stdout).to match /glueball/
    end
  end
end

I have tried various commands (most out of desperation) to force ES to be updated immediately but nothing seems to cause the message to instantly appear:

8  curl -XPOST 'localhost:9200/logstash-*/_refresh'
 9  curl -XPOST 'localhost:9200/logstash-*/_flush'
10  curl -XPOST 'localhost:9200/logstash-*/_flush?wait_if_ongoing'
11  curl -XPOST 'localhost:9200/logstash-*/_flush?force'

Strangely, one thing that does seem to work is to send a second message via logger. The first message usually appears within a few seconds after that, as if it somehow dislodges the most recent message that is "stuck"!

Any help most appreciated.

(Alex Harvey) #2

It seems I'm wrong. It's actually the logstash indexer that seems to be holding the messages.

(Alex Harvey) #3

How I debugged this:

I was sending a message using:

# logger -f /var/log/messages glueball