Multiple independent instances on one server

I have one VPS running two PHP applications (resp. production and test/staging environment of one application) that are using Elasticsearch. Until now I only had one cluster with one node, that was shared between both apps (at port 9200). I now need to separate the ES for each app, so I could use different data, indexes, mappings etc. for each of them. And I would still like to run everything on single VPS.

With Puppet I was able to set up two nodes listening at port 9200 and 9201 (two services), but they still seem to be dependent on each other – if I update mapping on one, the other app crashes (without logging anything, that's why it's so hard to debugg). I also tried using different cluster.name for each of them, but the the second cluster has UUID: _na_ and updating mapping and data doesn't work.

I'm new to ES so I'll appreciate any noob help, best practices or pointing in correct direction.

Hello @davidpustai

I do not see any advantage on running 2 separate Elasticsearch clusters as they'll be co hosted on the same machine/VM.

We usually discourage running multiple nodes of the same cluster on the same host (except if those are really huge/big machines).

What would be the main driver for having 2 clusters?

Hi @Luca_Belluccini,

as I wrote, I have 2 copies of the same app running on the server, just each of them with different data (production vs. testing/demo). It's easy to separate serving of the apps (Apache) and have them live in different directories, but I'm not sure how to split the data storage in ES since both apps use the same structure (indices & mappings).