Negative Filter - Not getting expected results

Hello all,

You'll have to excuse me as I'm quite new to the ELK stack and so, I might not be using proper terminology when describing my problem so please forgive me in advance.

I'm running a new installation of ELK on an Ubuntu 16.04 (Server build).

Version numbers are:
elasticsearch - 6.2.3
logstash - 1:6.2.3-1
kibana - 6.2.3

We're using this stack to attempt to analyze successful/failed user logins within our Windows domain. Along with this new ELK install, we've got a Windows domain controller (2012 R2) successfully sending login events via winlogbeat (6.3.2) to the stack through elastic (I've got logstash configured but in the interest of time, I wanted to just get things into elastic without trying to over complicate things via logstash).

To make a long story short, I'm targeting the "event_data.TargetUserID" field within each event to build a quick graph of the top 10 successful/failed user accounts (these are being pulled from Windows event_id 4624).

The issue I have is that the results from my query return mostly computer accounts in the form of "COMPUTERNAME$". Because we have so many of these computer accounts, they are always the top 10 or 15 results and thus, I'm not getting any meaningful user account results.

So, I tried to add a negative filter which I thought would return only accounts that don't match "COMPUTERNAME$" and I can't seem to find the proper syntax. I understand that I can use regex queries and I know that lucene regex matching has a few differences but no matter what I try, I can't seem to filter out these computer accounts using one or two filters.

Some examples of accounts I don't want to see are (most of the time entries are uppercase):
COMPUTERNAME$
COMPUTER-NAME-EXAMPLE$
COMPUTER-NAME$

I thought a simple regex such as ".*$" would work but no luck.

I've also tried:
.$
$$
(?i).$
(?i).
$$