NEST V5 How to use FunctionScoreQuery/FunctionScoreFunction to always boost a particular field

Hi All,

I am really new to Elastic Search so please bear with me. I can see lots of examples in the Elasticsearch Reference guide for using the Elasticsearch.NET low level client but not many examples on how to use the NEST high level client for FunctionScoreQuery/FunctionScoreFunction.

I am using NEST to build up a SearchRequest which will utilize a custom FunctionScoreQuery. I've set the Query property and am now trying to set the Functions property to a valid list of FunctionScoreFunctions. For simplicity, let's assume I have a simple Product object which has two properties, one a List called 'BoughtBefore' (which is a list of customer Ids) and one a float called 'Boost' which is the result of a custom boost calculation I have based on some of the properties in the Product object.

Firstly, I am trying to create a FunctionScoreFunction which would always apply a boost of 2 to the score if a customer has bought this product before.

This is the code I have for this FunctionScoreFunction:

var boughtBeforeBoostScore = new FunctionScoreFunction()
{
    Filter = new BoolQuery()
    {
        Must = new List<QueryContainer>() { new TermQuery() { Field = "boughtBefore", Value = customerId, Boost = 2.0 } }
    }
};

I have tried lots of things to no avail and at run time i get the exception: 'Can not write function score json for FunctionScoreFunction'.

Similarly, with the Product.Boost field, I am trying to create another FunctionScoreFunction which uses my Product.Boost field to replace the boost value calculated by Elasticsearch. Here is the code for this FunctionScoreFunction below:

var calculatedBoostScore = new FunctionScoreFunction()
{
    Filter = new FunctionScoreQuery() { Functions = new List<IScoreFunction> { new FieldValueFactorFunction() { Field = "boost" } }, BoostMode = FunctionBoostMode.Replace }
};