New field to filebeat.tempalte.default.json

Hi guys, i am new to elk architecture and trying to understand how can i add extra fields to my default filebeat.tempalte.default.json search pattern that i loaded on ELK server by executing: curl -XPUT 'http://localhost:9200/_template/filebeat?pretty' -d@filebeat.template.default.json. Now, when i go to Kibana i can see 150 fields in total for filebeat index but available for parsing only ~15. My question how can i add extra field to be able to sort by container name (CAPITALIZED LETTER BELOW) from this log string:

2017-10-17T06:36:25.363811+00:00 compass-staging DOCKER/COMPASS_PROCESSORS_1[1354]: [2017-10-17 06:36:25,363: DEBUG/ForkPoolWorker-1] compass.processing.scheduled_tasks.launch_processors[231c2537-3736-41e6-9552-a215b0b6507c]: Start launch_processors with label.

I don't really understand how this filed definition in filebeat.template.default.json template understands and parse only message part from the log entry:

"message": {
"norms": false,
"type": "text"
},

or date for example:

"@timestamp": {
"type": "date"
},

Thank you in advance.

This is an index template. It defines what data types are used for each field (e.g. offset is a long or @timestamp is a date).

That's because it doesn't define how the message is parsed. If you want to parse the message to extract the container name you'll want to use grok from either Logstash or Ingest Node.