Not able to find indices, Learning about elastic stack

Hello everyone;

I am new in this about the elastic stack. I have been reading about it and learning since 3 days ago, but I still have missing pieces.

I tried to orchestrate a simple sample using docker/docker-compose in order to see everything working, but I havent been able to get indices in my Kibana; so I am not sure what is missing and how to test if logstash or the file beat is the problem.

I will begin first for my understanding, please correct me if I am missing something:

• Logstash: it is our entry point to inject data/messages to the system. It can parse and also enrich the data
  • Elasticsearch: store and index the data, it will be our search engine.
  • Kibana: it is the dashboard that interact with elasticsearch to extract and display the data
  • Beats: little procedures that will fetch data somehow and pass it to Logstash to be treated.

With this concepts in mind I have the following docker-compose:

version: '2'
services:
  elasticsearch:
    image: docker.elastic.co/elasticsearch/elasticsearch:7.1.1
    ports:
      - "9200:9200"
      - "9300:9300"
    environment:
      - discovery.type=single-node
  kibana:
    image: docker.elastic.co/kibana/kibana:7.1.1
    ports:
      - "5601:5601"
    environment:
      ELASTICSEARCH_HOSTS: http://elasticsearch:9200
    depends_on:
      - elasticsearch
  logstash:
    image:  docker.elastic.co/logstash/logstash:7.1.1
    command: logstash -f /etc/logstash/conf.d/logstash.conf
    volumes:
      - ./logstash:/etc/logstash/conf.d
      - ./logstash/patterns:/opt/logstash/patterns
    depends_on:
      - elasticsearch
  filebeat:
    image: docker.elastic.co/beats/filebeat:7.1.1
    volumes:
      - ./filebeat/filebeat.yml:/filebeat.yml
      - ../fake-logs:/opt/tomcat/logs
    depends_on:
      - logstash

The filebeat configuration looks like:

filebeat.inputs:
- type: log
  paths:
    - "/opt/tomcat/logs/catalina.out"
  fields:
    apache: true