Not able to understand the mapping in elasticsearch

Hi ,

I am very new to elasticsearch . Presently working in v5.4.3
I was ging through the concept of mapping but could not get much clarity on the different types of mapping .
For example -
#curl -XPUT 'http://localhost:9200/twitter/user/XYZ?pretty' -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d '{ "name" : "ABC" }'

Is this automatic mapping (or default mapping ) ????? Since mapping is not defined before actual insertion of data takes place ???

And where we define the mapping template first and then insert data accordingly is explicit mapping ??
like below -
[root@node1 ~]# curl -X PUT "localhost:9200/test" -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d'
{
"settings" : {
"number_of_shards" : 1,
"number_of_replicas" : 0
},
"mappings" : {
"type1" : {
"properties" : {
"field1" : { "type" : "text" }
}
}
}
}
'
{"acknowledged":true,"shards_acknowledged":true,"index":"test"}[root@node1 ~]#

And now insert data after defining mapping
[root@node1 ~]# curl -X PUT "localhost:9200/test/type1/1?" -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d'

{
"title": "User2-Document6"
}
'

Is my understanding correct ?? I read mapping related information in the official site but not very clear .
Kindly help me understand the same .
Any leads would be highly appreciable !!

Thanks,
R_C

Hey Roshni,

With your first example,

PUT twitter/user/xyz
{
"name": "ABC"
}

you get a mapping of,

"twitter": {
    "mappings": {
      "user": {
        "properties": {
          "name": {
            "type": "text",
            "fields": {
              "keyword": {
                "type": "keyword",
                "ignore_above": 256

ES has turned your name field into both text and keyword (look at multi-fields). Text gets run through an analyzer and keyword is the source.

With your second example, you are correct, you are using Explicit Mapping. You are setting up a mapping type of type1 with properties. field1 is where you should specify the field name.