One elastic node fills up prior to the others?

Am I missing a policy or something? I have a 8 node cluster. 3k Winlogbeat agents reporting in. I ran winlogbeat setup -e to get the template installed. I've reviewed logs and nothing related to allocation seems to be in the logs. I can't even find a setting that would dictate why one randomn node gets filled up faster.

Any tips on where to begin? I'm self taught in elk and haven't been able to overcome whatever config I have overlooked this time.

Do all nodes have the same amount of disk space allocated?
Do they have a similar number of shards allocated to them?

Yes. I've mounted a 200 GB disk to every Ubuntu host and its where the data folder resides. The only node that is different is the first node which I created before I designed the cluster (I wiped data since then but kept the 1tb disk assigned).

All the nodes have a similar amount of shards allocated, maybe differentiating by +/- 1. Or at least till the watermark kicks in on the bad node.

Interesting...

What size are your shards on your biggest indices?

Can you run a

GET _cat/nodes/?v&h=name,du,dt,dup

and

GET _cat/indices/?bytes=b&s=store.size:desc&v=true

name           du       dt   dup
elastic06  10.7gb  195.8gb  5.51
elastic05  18.8gb  195.8gb  9.64
elastic08    11gb  195.8gb  5.63
elastic02 101.5gb  195.8gb 51.86
elastic01  51.7gb 1006.9gb  5.14
elastic07  19.4gb  195.8gb  9.93
elastic03 102.1gb  195.8gb 52.15
elastic04  11.1gb  195.8gb  5.67

Other api request is lengthly, https://pastebin.com/3zpKbgHv. I linked it here as pasting it in discuss was gross.

Could this be tied to a missing policy of some sort. I never setup rollover properly but I don't think that should affect allocation.

Can you run the cat indices as well I am pretty sure I know what is going on but want to see that first.

What you showed is the cat nodes

Ohh I see the past bin...let me look.

Hi @Jcroy

What version of elasticsearch are you on?

Can you please run