Permanently Delete All Old Documents with a Rollup Job?

Hello Master Elasticsearch Gurus,

I am new to ELK and last year implemented a simple Elasticsearch server (ver 7.4.0, I know, I have to upgrade) that is archiving some simple production user data. When I set up ES, I thought it would only be a temporary thing, so I did a “bare bones” implementation. But now, ES has proven its worthiness, and my boss would like the server to collect data for a few months.

This is a problem, because my only index is growing at an unsustainable rate. Sooner or later, I’ll have too many documents and, well, I don’t want to think about what happens next:

[root@Linux elasticsearch]# curl -X GET "localhost:9200/_cat/indices?v&pretty"
health status index                    uuid                   pri rep docs.count docs.deleted store.size pri.store.size
yellow open   myIndex                  12345-A-12345abcde1234   1   1    1227840            0    284.5mb        284.5mb
[root@Linux elasticsearch]#

See? 1,227,840 documents. This index is about to blow up.

The thing is, I really don’t need those documents after, say, a week. Once a document is over seven days old, it can be permanently deleted. The index should live forever, but I need to automate a way to clean out old data.

Being an ES newbie, I’ve read through the online documentation, and I think what I want is a rollup job. (An Index Lifecycle Management policy seems like the wrong approach – I don’t want to ever phase out the index.) The catch with a rollup job is, I don’t really want to roll up any data. After X amount of time, I want to clean out the old data, never to be seen or summarized again. I don’t need to inspect the old data before it gets thrown out; I just need it gone.

Working through the Rollup Jobs section on ES’s online documentation, I think what I need to do is this:

curl -X PUT "localhost:9200/_rollup/job/myCleanUp?pretty" -H 'Content-Type: application/json' -d'
{
    "index_pattern": "myIndex",