Possible to have elastic security read existing data/index?

I have what is possibly an odd question but I'm new with elastic security/siem and thought I would ask.
Is it possible to have the elastic security read a different data stream or ingestion other than the agents?
For example I have a number of existing elastic streams that contain a ton of windows events, it would be awesome if there was a way to have this data ingested as opposed to using stand alone or fleet agents over https.
Is this even remotely possible?

Hey Roger, welcome back!

Have you already got your data ingested or need to figure out how to do that?

If you already have some custom indices or data streams with your data, you can add them into Data Sources, and Elastic Security will start using them:

All indices you specify in Data Sources or in Detection Rules must be ECS compliant.

No i have not yet added it this is what I was curious about.
I do not see the option you show in your image for "Data Sources" on my page.
I should mention perhaps that I'm using 7.9.x
There is an add data option in the upper left but that does not give me the index list yours does.

Additional add this was setup to use the default index and such for testing, i have changed all that and its now in its own index.

i have now installed 4 agents, all of which appear connected, yet have no data to speak of in the portal.
Also still cant quit figure out how to make it look at other indices even though i edited this in the "advanced" area and added the indices in question.
any pointers are appreciated as clearly something isn't registering with me from the reading.