Representing URL data in kibana dashboard

Hi,
I am completely new to Kibana ,elasticsearch etc.
I followed a tutorial and set up kibana , elastic search logtash etc.

My requirement is as following :
1.I have some json data which loads when i open a url. I want to add a dashboard and set it up in such a way that when i click on the dashboard it should call the URL, get the values and display it on dashboard.
2. If i am able to change the state of monitor to" red" , "green" or "up" , "down" it will be an add on if possible.

Hoping to get some answer here as i have the setup but i dont know which specific file i need to modify to get this done as i dont have any experience with these dashboards

when i click on the dashboard it should call the URL, get the values and display it on dashboard

Unfortunately, that's not how these tools work, and there's really no way to build that in Kibana. Whatever data you are using the generate the JSON at that URL, you'll have to index into Elasticsearch first, and then you can use Kibana to aggregate and visualize it.

You could index the JSON from the URL directly if you wanted, assuming it had all the information you needed, and just index that.

I'm assuming that the JSON is providing you with a snapshot of the state of something. As in, the JSON might contain load information, uptimes, system statuses at the moment, and things like that. Am I right about that?

Yes Joe I found i need to put data in elasticsearch but which file??,is it the yml i need to edit??
ALso yes JSON has the data but is there any way i can set a kind of threshold on basis of which i can change color etc ??

Also one more thing :
I tried following command :
curl -POST http://localhost:9200/etc/elasticsearch -d @abc.txt
Where etc/elasticsearch is the path where elasticsearch is installed and abc.txt is the file, but my problems are :