Roll up index does not populate Time field

Hi!

I'm new to Roll Up index feature and I'm trying to configure some basic index so that I can start doing queries and visualizations.

I'm using ElasticSearch Stack in version 6.6.2 with the sample web logs that comes with kibana kibana_sample_data_logs.

So I went to Management > Roll Up Jobs and created a Roll Up job with Kibana UI.
My settings are:
Logistics

"Name": job1
"Index pattern": kibana*
"Roll Up index name": roll_up_job1
"Cron expression": */10 * * * * ?
"Page size": 1000 (default)
"Latency buffer (optional)": none

Date histograms

"Date field": timestamp
"Time bucket size": 10m
"Time zone": UTC

Terms

None

Histogram

None

Metrics

None

So as you see, it's a very basic configuration, but I can't get the Time field filled.
I also tried different combinations, such as selecting a term and some histogram to test it, but it doesn't work. Do you have any suggestions?

Here are some examples:

The time is in the field utc_time.date_histogram.timestamp. It's not showing up correctly in Discover because Discover is not meant to be used on rollup indicies. It's a tool optimized for inspecting individual documents.

When rolling up documents, this is not possible anymore (as there are not individual documents, just a technical pre-aggregated view).

You can use Visualizations (which are based on aggregations) to look at the data in rollup indices.

1 Like

Ok @flash1293, thank you, very much. That really explained a lot to me, and I think that is not explicitly expressed in the documentation..

So to conclude with my question, I would like to sum up with what was struggling me and how did I test it.