RUM for hybrid mobile apps

Hi all,

We use OutSystems to develop mobile applications, which are ReactJS hybrid mobile applications underneath.

As we prepare to go-live, and even though some metrics can be retrieved using the RUM agent, other metric like performance, usability and device like application load time, transition between screens, battery status, etc..., aren't.

So, my question to the forum is: does anyone already implemented a similar scenario with elastic? and if so, what did you use to accomplish that?

Thank you in advance.

Hi @dduarte,

Thanks for reaching out and welcome to the community!

RUM agent has no specific integration for mobile devices.

Let me add a few comments/questions for each of the cases you are enumerating, please bear in mind, I'm not an expert on mobile applications, so maybe I'm assuming things that are completely inadequate

metric like performance, device like application load time,

What do you mean exactly by this? Could you please elaborate more on this?

Out of the box, the agent gathers performance metrics ,you can see more info here and here

transition between screens

Do these transitions imply a change in the route? If so, we have a RUM integration for React which automatically creates transactions when a route changes (only if the transition triggers a network request such as XHR, fetch)

The core rum agent would also do that, but the React integration enhances it.

If not so, you will need to create your own custom transactions.

usability

Could you give an example?

Generally, you can create custom transactions for everything that is not out of the box, an example would help to understand more.

battery status

Same here, you could create a transaction with this info.

--