Run about 1k sequential non-scoring queries hourly, 1-2 times daily query times increase up to 5-6x

Hello, I am relatively new to Elasticsearch. I'm getting variable query performance and I'd like to understand what is going on.

I have a public dataset which I'm indexing into a 1-node cluster on Elasticsearch 6.7. There's one index per year, right now all indices are hot, because I want this data searchable. The current year's index is about 31m documents (though nested fields increase the document count 5-6x.)

Every hour, at 15 past, I run a series of about 1,000 non-scoring queries. The query program runs the queries sequentially and there is only one outstanding query at a time.

21-22 hours of the day, the queries finish after 15 minutes. But sometimes, the queries takes much longer. What normally takes 15 minutes starts taking 2-3 times this, and then if the query program kicks off shortly after the last cycle ended, the queries can take 5-6 times the 15 minutes. The way to break the fever is to skip one cycle of these queries, then things return to normal, 15 minutes for these 1,000 queries.

I know what resources my node has, I know its not up to corporate redundancy standards at all! I'd just like to understand what is going on.

The node has 8 GB memory. The minimum and maximum Java heap size in jvm.options is set to 4 GB.

During these distressed query situations, there are no new or different processes running on the node. Several thousand new documents are indexed in a batch every 10 minutes, but this is always going on.

I read about the memory pressure indicator:
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/cloud/current/ec-memory-pressure.html
So I did a snapshot of _nodes/stats during a time when queries were slow.

{
"nodes" : {
"node_name" : {
"jvm" : {
"mem" : {
"pools" : {
"old" : {
"used_in_bytes" : 2524861496,
"max_in_bytes" : 4120510464,