Search From Multiple Indexes

Is there a way to search records from multiple indexes?

Here is requirement, we are receiving 200 GB data per day, Also, i need to delete data based day wise,
so i am planing to build index on daily bases, so i can easily remove entire index.

if user search for 1 week of data, i need to search data from 7 different Indexes.
How can i search from multiple Indexes?

Also, if i delete data from existing records, will index rebuild automatically or I need to do it manually?

Regards,
Gaurav Patel

Just use index aliases. That's very convenient.
Or search in foo-* that will work as well.

Thanks a lot @dadoonet for quick reply, I am new to elasticsearch and with .net background. Could you please provide any reference or sample of it to go through. it will help me lot.

Searching in multiple indices. Imagine this scenario:

DELETE foo-1,foo-2,foo-3
POST foo-1/_doc
{
  "foo": "bar"
}
POST foo-2/_doc
{
}
POST foo-3/_doc
{
}

To search within all indices, run:

GET /_search

To search in indices starting with foo-, run:

GET foo-*/_search

About index aliases, read: https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/reference/current/indices-aliases.html

Thank you very much @dadoonet, for your quick response and support. Rally appreciate.

Hi @dadoonet

Below Indexes are created as per guidance and data is inserted into it.

e.g
logs-2018-5-25,

timestamp": "2018-05-25T01:24:18.595Z
SourceId: 1
Data:"Sample Data"

logs-2018-5-28,
timestamp": "2018-05-28T01:24:18.595Z

logs-2018-5-31
timestamp": "2018-05-31T01:24:18.595Z

If i want to search records for date "2018-05-25" and "2018-05-28", Is their any way i can set those value into "Routing" options of "SearchRequest". or is their any other way so that instead of looking into all available Indexes under Aliases?

Add a date range query in your query.

Hi, @dadoonet,

I added date into filers, see below code. Even though its going to search in all indexes instead of two. See attached image.