Simple HTTPS connection to ES

Hello !

It's my first time here, so I hope I have done things well.

I am currently working on a project using ES.

I have the following setup :

• One serveur where ES is running in HTTP : ES_SERVER
  • One Website in HTTP : CLIENT
  • One Website in HTTPS : ADMINISTRATION

The CLIENT website perform http request to ES_SERVER in AJAX from the browser.

I want to perform the followin evolution :

I want the ADMINISTRATION website to be able to perform request to the ES_SERVER.

At the beggining, I wanted to do it in ajax, from the browser.
However, it is not possible to perform request to a server without encryption from an HTTPS connection.

So, I decided to put SSL and HTTPS to my ES_SERVER.

Now that it is done, I understand that it is not possible to just call "https://ES_SERVER"

So my questions are the following :

• Is it possible to perform an AJAX call, from the browser, to an ES_SERVER in HTTPS ? (I think I understand it is not possible)

• What is the right way to interact from a browser to a ES_SERVER using HTTPS ? (I think using a curl request from the server side is better than I currently do with the ajax request client-side)

• is there any way to connect to ES_SERVER without any password or user ? (Then again, if from server side, it is not really an issue)

If the situation is not clear, feel free to ask any questions.

Thank you for your answeres,

Why is that ? What issue did you encounter that lead you to think that?

Yes, it is. See also the CORS related settings in HTTP | Elasticsearch Guide [8.11] | Elastic.