Simulate tail -f

Dear friends,
I'm new to ElasticSearch, only been enjoying it as the backend of the Kibana instance running in production.

I have a new requirement, I have to parse application logs in real time, until now via bufferedReader.readLine() in a loop on the log files themselves.

In the new scenario the applications are containers in Openshift that are forwarding logs to Fluentd and Fluentd is sending them to ES, so I'd like to just swap out the bufferedReader.readLine() of my previous parsing application in favour of an API call exposed by the ES Java SDK.

Is there something similar that would fit my requirement?

Thank you everyone,
Roberto

Hey,

I am not sure I understand this requirement. If you want to have tail -f like functionality of your logs, you can have this in Kibana, using the Logs UI. See https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/kibana/6.8/logs-ui.html

If you need to ship data to Elasticsearch first, then take a look at filebeat.

If this is not what you meant, please try to explain in different words. Thanks!

--Alex

Thanks for the help Alexander. What I have is a Java application that "tail -f" application logs by calling BufferedReader.readLine() in a loop. For each read line it does some stuff, for example if the application log line is of a certain type, it reads it and uses it to perform actions on a Remedy trouble ticketing system via its Java API. This works fine when the application logs are written to disk and the standalone Java app can simply open a Java stream to read them.

Now a client has a microservice application deployed in Openshift, the containers log to stdout, the logs are already being collected via Fluend and Fluentd forwards them to an ES instance, also managed directly by the client.