Struggling to understand the value of ML for my data

OK, so i'm loving elasticsearch 6.0.

I'm a data scientist, and so i'm keen to understand how anomaly detection can work for my data.

I put in my data and i start playing around with ML, following various tutorials.

I am finding that it does not seem to be finding anomalies as I would expect.

For example, consider the data below - its a bunch of events collected, and each event has a PID, top 10 shown:

If i just focus on one value of PID via search, then I see this graph:

I would think that there are clearly some anomalies here.

So i setup an ML job based on this search (multi-metric).

When I run it, I get no anomalies:

If i click on the results in the time series analysis, I get a nice graph, but no anomaly results:

Am I doing something wrong ? Are my assumptions wrong ?

Also...even if I did get this to work...It seems to be that ElasticSearch is not really machine learning at all, but its statistically analysis ( training ) and threshold checking ( detection ).

What might I be missing, in execution, and in theory, in what ElasticSearch ML is trying to do ?

Thanks !

1 Like

Hi George,

What is the bucket_span you are using for that analysis? What is the time granularity for the anomalies you want to detect?

In general, the time range of the data looks too short for the ML models to be able to make any meaningful detection. Could you try using data that cover a larger data spread?

Dmitri,

Thanks for your reply.

The data i showed above is 10000 total data points over 3 minutes. I've tried buckets all the way down to 1 second.

Yes I will try more data points - what do you recommend ?

Thanks again :slight_smile:

Dmitri,

Per your recommendation, i recorded now 500,000 data points over the course of 40 minutes and bucket size of 1 second.

Still, the multi-metric anomaly detector does not find anything. I can clearly see anomalies even in the anomaly viewer :slight_smile: