Syncing large amount of data from mysql to elasticsearch

Hi All, I am fairly new to elasticsearch. We have a large amount of data in multiple databases (mainly mysql). I need to move them to elasticsearch with either a parent child approach or nested approach. The requirement is to be able to search based on parent / child attributes to get the parent / child documents. Also, I am comparing custom vs dynamic mappings.

Could you help me with modelling the same. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

One option is Logstash where we have JDBC plugin and from that you can import data from mysql to elasticsearch. Let me know if you need further help.

Thanks

Kartheek Gummaluri

I'd totally forget about the existing model and would just think about the usage to build the right "search" objects for my use case.
Here I can't really answer as I don't know the use case.

Basically I'd recommend to ask yourself 2 questions:

• What kind of objects my users want to get back as a response? If it's object X, then just index object X
  • What typical attributes my users want to search for? Let say I need attribute a, b and c, just index those attributes within object X whatever the original source of those attributes is.

HTH

@kartheek91 Thanks for the response. I have multiple databases as source as we have multiple microservices. Is there any option to load data do some merging and then pushing it to elasticsearch

@dadoonet

Thank you for the reply.

I am planning to forget the existing model and go with one that would scale well with elasticsearch.
Here is my problem in detail. Say, I have four categories of entities E1, E2, E3 and E4.

E1 - moderate count
E2 depends on E1; - large amount of data
E3 is like addons to E1; - moderate count
E4 depends on E2. - very large amount of data