Troubleshooting on a data table with aggregation in Kibana

Hello,

I'm quite new to Kibana and ES, so my question might be a bit naive, I apologize in advance!

I have indexed data on production test lines and I would like to compute (and then use) some specific values.
Quick description of the data:

• a tested product is identified with a serial
  • if the first test fails, this product can be tested on different test lines, up to 4 times (after which it is considered faulty)
  • all tests are timestamped (obviously)

Let's begin with two basic needs:

1. I am able to count the number of products, but I would like to break down this dimension by test line by keeping only the first test for each product (so that the sum of tested products on each test line equals the total number of products)
  2. I was able to display the number of tests carried out on each product, but now I would like to display the number of products with only 1 test (which corresponds to the "first pass yield" products), ideally broken down by test lines

I guess the two questions both come from my relative ignorance about nesting aggregation, so any help would be greatly appreciated for me to overcome this initial obstacle :slight_smile:

You don't have to apologize for naive questions. Guess it's perfectly normal for any beginner in any fields.

What you should apologize for, is not giving us more details about your use case :rofl:

Joking apart, what is the structure of your documents? Can you paste here a sample json of one of your doc (maybe without all those fields not useful for this thread's purpose)?
Also, can you post here an image (even a sketch) of what you'd like to achieve with the data table?

Thank you ad welcome to the community!

OK, not sure how to post JSON in a clean way but here it is:

{
  "mapping": {
    "properties": {
      "metadata": {
        "properties": {
          "equipment_code": {
            "type": "text",
            "fields": {