Upgrade ELK Stack from 5.x -> 6.5 - Now have stability issues / errors!

HI all, really would appreciated your help on the following. I have been running an ELK stack very successfully for over 2 years on version 5.x. There was a requirement to upgrade which I have done for all components (Elasticsearch, Logstash and Kibana) which was quite straight forward on centos 7.

Now I have errors in kibana:

"Request to Elasticsearch failed: {"error":{"root_cause":[{"type":"illegal_argument_exception","reason":"Trying to query 2305 shards, which is over the limit of 2300. This limit exists because querying many shards at the same time can make the job of the coordinating node very CPU and/or memory intensive. It is usually a better idea to have a smaller number of larger shards. Update [action.search.shard_count.limit] to a greater value if you really want to query that many shards at the same time."}],"type":"illegal_argument_exception","reason":"Trying to query 2305 shards, which is over the limit of 2300. This limit exists because querying many shards at the same time can make the job of the coordinating node very CPU and/or memory intensive. It is usually a better idea to have a smaller number of larger shards. Update [action.search.shard_count.limit] to a greater value if you really want to query that many shards at the same time."},"status":400}"

I have to admit I'm not an expert on the elasticsearch setup and optimized configuration.

My configuration:

I only have 1 node currently.

output of url -XGET http://localhost:9200/_cluster/settings?pretty :
[root@sc-logs-prd-01 kibana]# curl -XGET http://localhost:9200/_cluster/settings?pretty
{
"persistent" : {
"action" : {
"search" : {
"shard_count" : {
"limit" : "2300"
}
}
}
},
"transient" : { }
}

Output of curl -s http://localhost:9200/_cluster/health?pretty:
{
"cluster_name" : "sc-logger",
"status" : "yellow",
"timed_out" : false,
"number_of_nodes" : 1,
"number_of_data_nodes" : 1,
"active_primary_shards" : 2318,