Use rally to compare existing clusters - document a way to run 'short' tests

I'm a bit new to rally and have been recently trying it out. My goal is to start comparing the performance of two elasticsearch clusters I have access to (classic "old one", new "on kubernetes one"). I was hoping to have a rather "quick" test suite and end up having a performance rating which we can use to measure the performances improvements of tweaking some things on the new "on kubernetes cluster".

The useful bit of the documentation for this was :

https://esrally.readthedocs.io/en/stable/recipes.html?highlight=--pipeline%3Dbenchmark-only#benchmarking-an-existing-cluster

Running on my laptop I tried a simple docker run --rm -ti --name elasticsearch -p 9200:9200 -p 9300:9300 -e "discovery.type=single-node" elasticsearch:7.10.1 and esrally race --pipeline=benchmark-only --target-hosts=localhost:9200 , this seemed to be a rather long tests, so I tried to dig for a smaller dataset. After some tweaking I got to using :

esrally race --pipeline=benchmark-only --target-hosts=localhost:9200 --track=percolator --include-tasks=delete-index,create-index,index,percolator_with_content_google --kill-running-processes

Which seems to give me some performance numbers in 69 seconds, :tada:

Am I doing it right ? Could this be put forward in the documentation as "Quickstart, get some raw numbers out without waiting too long" ?

Hello Arthur,

Thank you for your interest in Rally! In general, each rally track evaluating performance of a particular feature. For example, percolator track is for evaluating the performance of percolation queries. So you might want to pick a track that is close to what the actual workload will be. esrally list tracks shows short description of the tracks and existing challenges. For more detailed description please take a look README files under each track in rally-tracks